Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]

A Reyvateil's Melody

Ar tonelico fan site forums.

Add Reply
  • Pages:
[Tutorial] Ar tonelico II on PS3
Topic Started: Jan 9 2015, 11:21 AM (2,011 Views)
VenTK
Yep! Ar tonelico II is perfectly playable on PlayStation 3 consoles! And I mean every single variant (except the super slim, but I'll get to that in a bit). If you didn't know, when you inserted the Ar tonelico II disk into a backwards-compatible PS3, the disk would boot up, but after the PlayStation 2 logo would appear on-screen, the screen would remain black, and you'd be forced to quit out of the game using the XMB. I'm going to show you a way to avoid this black screen, so you'll be able to play the game.

Keep in mind, I've never written a tutorial before, so I don't know how useful this'll be for people.

What you'll need:
- Ar tonelico II (in .iso format)
- PlayStation 3 console (must be on custom firmware or on firmware 3.55 or lower)
- A computer (just for getting your files ready)
- A USB flash drive or a USB external HDD (absolutely must be in NTFS format)

Note: You must have custom firmware on your console to utilize the black screen fix, as you need to alter the files of the game - something that can only be done on custom (unofficial) firmware. There are a few ways to get custom firmware on your PS3. Whichever way you proceed, you MUST have a PS3 that ran or could run official firmware 3.55. So, if you own one of the newer super slim models that was released way AFTER ofw 3.55 became obsolete, you're completely stuck here. That being said, even some of the normal slim consoles share this same fate, and I won't be explaining how to install cfw, so go search online. I won't go into how to obtain an iso file either, as you should already know that. As for your USB drive, NTFS is necessary because you need to transfer files over 4GB; this is something that is not possible on FAT32 devices.

Step 1: Installing ReactPSN on your PS3